kashkay family
ken kru kaz

collection::Exhibition::Caps from Hot Spots

I’d like to show you caps from the various territories which are inside of official countries, but for some reasons not under government control due to occupation, non-recognized self declared independence, dual status, etc. These caps can’t treated as caps from a separate countries, but interesting due it there unique design dictated by political situation


Nothern Cyprus
The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC) (Turkish: Kuzey Kıbrıs Türk Cumhuriyeti, KKTC), commonly called Northern Cyprus or North Cyprus (Turkish: Kuzey Kıbrıs), is a de facto independent republic located in the north of Cyprus. The TRNC declared its independence in 1983, nine years after a Greek Cypriot coup attempting to annex the island to Greece triggered an invasion by Turkey. It has received diplomatic recognition only from Turkey, on which it has become dependent for economic, political and military support. The rest of the international community, including the United Nations and European Union, recognises the sovereignty of the Republic of Cyprus over the territory of the TRNC



Republic of Chechnya. The latter proclaimed the Chechen Republic of Ichkeria, which sought independence. Following the First Chechen War with Russia, Chechnya gained de facto independence as the Chechen Republic of Ichkeria. Russian federal control was partually restored during the Second Chechen War.

There is Senjun caps, but imaje is not available right now.


Occupaid Georgian territories
The Republic of South Ossetia and Abkhasia declared its independence from Georgia in 1991. However, the entities remained unrecognized. Georgia tried to retake control over South Ossetia on two occasions, in 2004 and 2008. The last attempt led to the 2008 South Ossetian war, during which Ossetian seperatists and Russian troops gained full de-facto control of the territory. Abhazia was occupied as well at the same time. Currently both areas are under Russian occupation.

There is CP caps as well, but no image available


Nothern Iraq
In 1991 Iraqi Kurdistan has been de facto independent. The 2003 invasion of Iraq by joint coalition and Kurdish forces and the subsequent political changes in post-Saddam Iraq led to the ratification of the new Iraqi constitution in 2005. The new Iraqi constitution stipulates that Iraqi Kurdistan is a federal entity recognized by Iraq and the United Nations



East Moldova
Transnistria, is a disputed region in Eastern Europe. Since its declaration of independence in 1990, followed by the War of Transnistria in 1992, it is governed by the unrecognized Pridnestrovian Moldavian Republic (PMR), which claims the left bank of the river Dniester and the city of Bendery within the former Moldavian SSR. The modern Republic of Moldova does not recognize the secession and considers PMR-controlled territories to be a part of Moldova's sovereign territory


The Palestinian territories are composed of two discontiguous regions, the West Bank and the Gaza Strip, whose final status has yet to be determined. The territories, which were originally contained within the British Mandate of Palestine, were captured and occupied by Jordan and by Egypt in the late 1940s, and captured and occupied by Israel in the 1967 Six-Day War.



Since the end of the World War II in 1945, the island group has been governed by the Republic of China. The island group is, however, claimed by the People's Republic of China (PRC), which was established in 1949 on mainland China displacing the ROC and considers itself the successor state to the ROC with the exception of Mongolia. Since the 1970s, ROC itself (which has been located only in Taiwan) is commonly known as "Taiwan"